1.1.1 Bioregion

The Gwydir subregion is part of the Northern Inland Catchments bioregion (Figure 3). The Northern Inland Catchments bioregion is located west of the Great Dividing Range in eastern Australia. It includes parts of the northern Murray–Darling Basin in northern New South Wales and southern Queensland. Parts of the northern Murray–Darling Basin that are not underlain by coal are not included. The Northern Inland Catchments bioregion adjoins the Clarence‑Moreton bioregion in the north-east, and the Northern Sydney Basin bioregion in the south. It covers an area of about 248,000 km2.

The Gwydir subregion boundary was the same as the Border Rivers-Gwydir Catchment Management Authority boundary[1] over the extent of the coal-bearing geological basins. The Gwydir subregion does not extend further east than this (Figure 16), so covers a smaller area than the combined Border Rivers-Gwydir river basins in NSW (Figure 29).

The Gwydir Catchment Management Authority was replaced by the North West Local Land Services over the Gwydir subregion in January 2014. Local Land Services regions are generally collations of local government areas, whereas catchment management authorities were based on surface water catchments.

Figure 3

Figure 3 Northern Inland Catchments bioregion and subregions

Last updated:
5 January 2018