1.2.3 Proposals and exploration


This section summarises coal resource development exploration proposals that were known to be in train as at May 2015. New coal projects or extensions associated with existing operating mines and complexes in the Hunter subregion include Bulga, Chain Valley, Drayton South, Drayton, Mandalong, Mangoola, Mannering and Mount Owen. Other activities reported in this section include new coal mine projects such as the Bylong and Ferndale and exploration of deposits such as the Mitchell’s Flat and Monash coal deposits. Locations of these proposed mines and projects are shown in Figure 9. Coal seam gas (CSG) activities in the Hunter subregion have generally been limited to a few exploration studies in the Hunter and Newcastle coalfields, including exploration by AGL Energy Limited (AGL) in an area to the south of Singleton; exploration by Santos Ltd (Santos) and Dart Energy Limited (Dart Energy) in the area between Murrurundi and Gulgong; and exploration by Dart Energy around Nelson Bay and Fullerton Cove. No information about future plans for these CSG projects was available at the time of writing.

Figure 9

Figure 9 Coal resource development proposals in the Hunter subregion, as at May 2015

Data: Bioregional Assessment Programme (Dataset 1)

Last updated:
18 January 2019
Thumbnail of the Hunter subregion

Product Finalisation date