1.3.2 Ecological assets


Of the 1272 ecological assets in the asset list, 1131 were deemed to be water dependent for the purposes of the bioregional assessment (BA). The water-dependent asset register contains 599 assets in the ‘Vegetation’ subgroup, 12 in the ‘Groundwater feature’ subgroup and 520 in the ‘Surface water feature’ subgroup. Assets in the ‘Vegetation’ subgroup fell predominantly into two classes: groundwater-dependent ecosystems or habitat. Six communities and 19 threatened species listed under the Commonwealth’s Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (EPBC Act) were identified as water dependent in the Gwydir subregion.

Last updated:
5 January 2018