1.3.2 Ecological assets


The water-dependent asset register for the Clarence-Moreton bioregion contained 1520 ecological assets assessed from the 1616 in the asset list provided as of 19 August 2015. The asset register was divided into surface water features, subsurface groundwater features and vegetation. All surface water features were assumed to be water dependent. The asset list includes the potential spatial habitat distribution of 93 species listed under the Commonwealth’s Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (EPBC Act) and 93 species listed under Queensland’s Nature Conservation Act 1992 (Nature Conservation Act). Four important bird areas (IBAs) and 170 lake, waterhole or wetland associated areas across the preliminary assessment extent (PAE) for the Clarence-Moreton bioregion were assessed. Seven threatened ecological communities within the PAE were also included in the asset list. There were also 157 groundwater-dependent ecosystems (GDEs) assessed for dependency on subsurface water or where the groundwater connected with surface water. Data knowledge gaps were identified, for example, when information was not available or species distributions were not modelled.

Last updated:
28 September 2018