Sydney Basin bioregion

SBB Hawkesbury River harbour by s_lilin on CC BY 2-0

This bioregional assessment identifies current and future coal and coal seam gas resources and developments, as well as water-dependent assets in the Sydney Basin bioregion.

About the bioregion

The Sydney Basin bioregion adjoins the Northern Sydney Basin bioregion, and extends from Capertee in the north to Durras on the south coast of New South Wales. Major rivers in the Sydney Basin bioregion include the Hawkesbury River and its main tributary the Nepean River, as well as the Georges and the Shoalhaven rivers.

The Sydney Basin bioregion includes Australia’s largest city, Sydney, as well as the cities and towns of Wollongong, Bowral, Moss Vale, Nowra and Lithgow. It also includes significant parts of the Blue Mountains, Wollemi and Moreton national parks.

Coal mining and coal seam gas operations

The bioregion is underlain by rocks of the geological Sydney Basin. The Sydney Basin includes the Southern coalfields and most of the Western coalfields where black coal resources are close to the surface and have been mined for many decades. Coal production is mostly from underground mines in the Wollongong-Appin-Bulli area in the south and the Lithgow-Mudgee area in the west. There is also coal seam gas production at Camden.

About the bioregional assessment

The bioregional assessment for the Sydney Basin bioregion will involve compiling background information and a water-dependent asset register.

Last updated:
28 September 2016
Did you know?
  • Area: about 25,000 square kilometres
  • Population: about 5 million
  • Climate: temperate
  • Annual rainfall: ranges from about 800 millimetres (inland) to about 1300 millimetres (coast).